September 3rd, 2013

Tuesday’s lineups: Tigers (with Cabrera) at Red Sox

Fenway sign 002

Miguel Cabrera worked out and ran before batting practice today and cleared every test he had. As a result, he’s back in the Tigers lineup in his usual spot, playing third base and hitting against Red Sox lefty Jon Lester.

Jacoby Ellsbury, meanwhile, is not in the Red Sox lineup, despite a 5-for-9 career mark against Scherzer. He has soreness in his hand after jamming his thumb a couple days ago. His absence leaves David Ortiz as the one guy in the BoSox lineup who has consistently hit Scherzer in his career, though two home runs make Dustin Pedroia somebody to keep an eye on.

TIGERS (career numbers off Lester)

  1. Austin Jackson, CF (2-for-10, walk, K)
  2. Torii Hunter, RF (13-for-56, 2 HR, 3 walks, 11 K’s)
  3. Miguel Cabrera, 3B (4-for-12, HR, walk, 3 K’s)
  4. Prince Fielder, 1B (4-for-9)
  5. Victor Martinez, DH (11-for-29, 4 walks, 3 K’s)
  6. Omar Infante, 2B (3-for-14, walk, 6 K’s)
  7. Matt Tuiasosopo, LF (0-for-2, walk, 2 K’s)
  8. Brayan Pena, C (6-for-14, 2 K’s)
  9. Jose Iglesias, SS (1-for-3)

P: Max Scherzer

RED SOX (career numbers off Scherzer)

  1. Shane Victorino, CF (10-for-43, HR, 4 walks, 7 K’s)
  2. Daniel Nava, RF (1-for-6, K)
  3. Dustin Pedroia, 2B (3-for-13, 2 HR, K)
  4. David Ortiz, DH (7-for-13, 3 HR, 2 walks, 2 K’s)
  5. Mike Carp, 1B (2-for-5, walk, 3 K’s)
  6. Jonny Gomes, LF (0-for-3, 2 K’s)
  7. Stephen Drew, SS (1-for-9, 4 K’s)
  8. David Ross, C (1-for-2)
  9. Will Middlebrooks, 3B (0-for-3, 3 K’s)

P: Jon Lester

MLB releases postseason schedule

Get ready for a few days of buildup between the end of the regular season and the start of the AL Division Series. Major League Baseball has released its schedule for the postseason, and both AL Division Series will run on the same days. Thus, if the Tigers get the first or second seed in the AL playoffs, they’ll have home games Friday and Saturday, Oct. 5, plus Game 5 if necessary on Oct. 10.

The ALCS begins Saturday, Oct. 12 and runs potentially through Sunday, Oct. 20. The World Series begins in the American League city on Wednesday, Oct. 23. It will end before November, with a potential Game 7 on Halloween.

Here’s the breakdown:

AL DIVISION SERIES (2-2-1 format)

  • Game 1: Friday, Oct. 4 (TBS or MLB Network)
  • Game 2: Saturday, Oct. 5 (TBS)
  • Game 3: Monday, Oct. 7 (TBS or MLB Network)
  • Game 4: Tuesday, Oct. 8 (TBS)
  • Game 5: Thursday, Oct. 10 (TBS)

ALCS (2-3-2 format, all on FOX)

  • Game 1: Saturday, Oct. 12
  • Game 2: Sunday, Oct. 13
  • Game 3: Tuesday, Oct. 15
  • Game 4: Wednesday, Oct. 16
  • Game 5: Thursday, Oct. 17
  • Game 6: Saturday, Oct. 19
  • Game 7: Sunday, Oct. 20

WORLD SERIES (2-3-2 format, all on FOX)

  • Game 1: Wednesday, Oct. 23 (AL City)
  • Game 2: Thursday, Oct. 24 (AL City)
  • Game 3: Saturday, Oct. 26 (NL City)
  • Game 4: Sunday, Oct. 27 (NL City)
  • Game 5: Monday, Oct. 28 (NL City)
  • Game 6: Wednesday, Oct. 30 (AL City)
  • Game 7: Thursday, Oct. 31 (AL City)
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25,211 other followers