July 10th, 2013

Wednesday’s lineup: Tigers vs. White Sox

Ramon Santiago returns to the lineup after Hernan Perez made his first Major League start last night.

Austin Jackson’s numbers off Dylan Axelrod are very tempting to go with in Beat the Streak, as is Miguel Cabrera’s history off of him. It might be worth doubling down, but I stuck with Miguel Cabrera after picking Matt Tuiasosopo and Torii Hunter Tuesday night. Other MLB.com beat writers’ picks (Bill Ladson went with Cabrera as well) can be found here.

Gameday | TV: FS Detroit, MLB.TV | Radio: 97.1 FM, AM 1270, Gameday Audio

TIGERS (career numbers off Dylan Axelrod)

  1. Austin Jackson, CF (4-for-5, HR)
  2. Torii Hunter, RF
  3. Miguel Cabrera, 3B (3-for-7, K)
  4. Prince Fielder, 1B (1-for-2, HR, walk)
  5. Victor Martinez, DH (1-for-2, walk, K)
  6. Jhonny Peralta, SS (2-for-4, K)
  7. Andy Dirks, LF (2-for-7, K)
  8. Alex Avila, C (1-for-3, K)
  9. Ramon Santiago, 2B (1-for-2, walk)

P: Rick Porcello

Benoit jumps to third in AL Final Vote

Don’t write off Joaquin Benoit from the AL All-Star Final Vote just yet. After passing Boston’s Koji Uehara and moving into third in the standings, he’s now on the outskirts of the back-and-forth duel between Toronto’s Steve Delabar and New York’s David Robertson, close enough that he looks like he has a real shot at this.

Benoit clearly seems to be benefiting from the Tigers-Giants partnership for a Benoit-Hunter Pence ticket. A look at the county-by-county breakdown shows that Benoit now is getting most of the vote in central and northern California, in counties that weren’t trending his way Tuesday morning. Pence doesn’t seem to be getting the same bump in Tigers, territory, though; most of Michigan seems to be trending towards Yasiel Puig.

(By the way, as workday time-wasters go, the county-by-county breakdown is excellent. You can lose a chunk of the afternoon looking up random counties where Benoit leads. I had no idea there was an Idaho County in Idaho.)

You have until Thursday at 4pm ET to vote at tigers.com/vote. In addition, you can vote on Twitter from 10am to 4pm on Thursday just by using the hashtag #BackBenoit.