October 10th, 2012

Game 4 lineups: Tigers at Athletics

Miguel Cabrera’s two-homer, six-RBI game at Comerica Park came when A.J. Griffin started Sept. 18. It was Griffin’s 68 mph curveball Cabrera sent out 446 feet to left. Jhonny Peralta and Prince Fielder also homered against Griffin. We’ll see if the Tigers get anything like that going in much different surroundings.


  1. Austin Jackson, cf
  2. Quintin Berry, lf
  3. Miguel Cabrera, 3b
  4. Prince Fielder, 1b
  5. Delmon Young, dh
  6. Andy Dirks, rf
  7. Jhonny Peralta, ss
  8. Alex Avila, c
  9. Omar Infante, 2b

P: Max Scherzer


  1. Coco Crisp, cf
  2. Stephen Drew, ss
  3. Yoenis Cespedes, lf
  4. Brandon Moss, 1b
  5. Josh Reddick, rf
  6. Josh Donaldson, 3b
  7. Seth Smith, dh
  8. Derek Norris, c
  9. Cliff Pennington, 2b

P: A.J. Griffin

Cabrera up for Hank Aaron Award

Fans could debate all they wanted about Miguel Cabrera’s case for AL MVP, but they didn’t have a vote. They do, however, have a vote for Major League Baseball’s Hank Aaron Award, which goes each year to each league’s most outstanding offensive player.

Voting begins today at MLB.com and runs through Oct. 16, with fans selecting one hitter from each league. Each team has one nominee. Cabrera, of course, is one of them, as is Mike Trout, Josh Hamilton, Joe Mauer and Josh Hamilton.

Voting results will be combined with those from a Hall of Fame panel that includes Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan and Robin Yount. The two league winners will be announced during the World Series.

The key point to remember here is that the criteria is strictly offense — no overall WAR, no defense, no special credit given to one’s defensive position. To call a Triple Crown “cute” probably won’t fly here, but Trout’s ability to create runs with his baserunning is still a major factor.