September 27th, 2011

Game times for Division Series opener set

The Tigers still don’t know where they’ll open the playoffs, or who they’ll be playing. But they now have a good idea of when.

Major League Baseball just released game times for Friday’s games, which open the AL Division Series. The AL Wild Card winner will open at either Texas or Detroit at 5:o7pm ET. The other series, the one beginning at Yankee Stadium, will begin at 8:37pm ET.

All Division Series games are on TBS.

Tuesday: Tigers vs. Indians

Not only is Wilson Betemit back in the lineup for the first time since Sept. 16, he’s batting second. Don’t read anything into that, though. Jim Leyland said that’s meant to get Betemit an extra at-bat if possible to help get his timing back. Other than that, no surprises, except maybe Ryan Raburn and Magglio Ordonez starting against right-hander Jeanmar Gomez, who allows a .315 average to left-handed hitters.


  1. Austin Jackson, CF
  2. Wilson Betemit, 3B
  3. Delmon Young, LF
  4. Miguel Cabrera, 1B
  5. Victor Martinez, DH
  6. Alex Avila, C
  7. Magglio Ordonez, RF
  8. Jhonny Peralta, SS
  9. Ryan Raburn, 2B

P: Max Scherzer


  1. Kosuke Fukudome, RF
  2. Jason Kipnis, 2B
  3. Carlos Santana, 1B
  4. Jim Thome, DH
  5. Shelley Duncan, LF
  6. Lonnie Chisenhall, 3B
  7. Jason Donald, SS
  8. Ezequiel Carrera, CF
  9. Lou Marson, C

P: Jeanmar Gomez