September 19th, 2009

Not the first, but might be the last

An odd point came up as Don Kelly was explaining what happened on the fly ball in the eighth.

“Once it went through the lights, I lost it,” Kelly said. “There’s
really nothing else you can do. I mean, it’s not like I took my eye off
of if. People were saying they’ve seen many, many balls lost here. It’s
not the first. It’s not going to be the last.”

At that point, someone pointed out that it might be the last. After all, there’s just four games left at the Metrodome before the Twins move to the Target Center for next season.

“Thanks,” Kelly said with just a slight crack of a smile.

Tigers and negative run differential

With Friday’s 3-0 loss, the Tigers entered Saturday on top of the AL Central despite allowing more runs (673) than they’ve scored (670). Just two teams since 2000 have won a division with a negative run differential, and both came out of the NL West: the 2007 Diamondbacks and 2005 Padres.

The last American League team to do it? The 1987 Twins (786 runs scored, 806 runs allowed). You may remember them as the World Series champions, because they were so strong at home. They were +63 at the Metrodome, but minus-83 everywhere else. Not surprisingly, the Tigers have a similar split: +63 at Comerica Park, minus-66 on the road.

Saturday: Tigers vs. Carl Pavano (and Twins)

Johan Santana never beat the Tigers five times in a season. Nor did CC Sabathia, Nor did Mark Buehrle, though he came close with a 4-2 record against them in 2001. Carl Pavano will get to five if he beats the Tigers Saturday. Considering what Pavano has done against everybody else, it would arguably be the pitching equivalent of Jody Gerut putting up seven homers and 27 RBIs against the Tigers in 2003, and just 15 homers and 48 RBIs against the rest of baseball. Joe Mays was the last to beat the Tigers five times in a season, back in 2001, according to If Pavano does it, safe to say, it will drive the Tigers crazy.


  1. Granderson, CF
  2. Polanco, 2B
  3. Guillen, LF
  4. Cabrera, 1B
  5. Huff, DH
  6. Ordonez, RF
  7. Inge, 3B
  8. Laird, C
  9. Everett, SS

P: Justin Verlander


  1. Denard Span, CF
  2. Orlando Cabrera, SS
  3. Joe Mauer, C (his 9-game hitting streak vs. DET ended last night)
  4. Jason Kubel, RF
  5. Michael Cuddyer, 1B
  6. Delmon Young, LF
  7. Jose Morales, DH
  8. Brian Buscher, 3B
  9. Nick Punto, 2B

P: Carl Pavano