May 27th, 2009

Anderson leads off again

If you find yourself getting twisted between Granderson and Anderson atop the Tigers lineup, you’re not alone. The lineup sheet posted outside the visiting clubhouse at Kauffman Stadium this morning started out kind of like this: 1. GrAnderson.

That said, Granderson and Anderson are the only two left-handed bats in the lineup today against Kyle Davies. Jeff Larish and Clete Thomas both have the day off. Thomas, in particular, has been playing a lot. Magglio Ordonez is the DH, while Ryan Raburn gets the start in right field, batting eighth.


  1. Anderson, LF
  2. Polanco, 2B
  3. Ordonez, DH
  4. Cabrera, 1B
  5. Granderson, CF
  6. Inge, 3B
  7. Laird, C
  8. Raburn, RF
  9. Everett, SS

P: Rick Porcello


  1. Mitch Maier, CF
  2. David DeJesus, LF
  3. Billy Butler, 1B
  4. Jose Guillen, RF
  5. Mike Jacobs, DH
  6. Mark Teahen, 3B
  7. Alberto Callaspo, 2B
  8. John Buck, C
  9. Luis Hernandez, SS

P: Kyle Davies

Dickerson to undergo surgery

Tigers broadcaster Dan Dickerson returned home Wednesday morning and will undergo surgery to repair a ruptured quad tendon in his left leg.

Dickerson was jogging Tuesday morning in Kansas City when the tendon apparently ruptured. He underwent an MRI exam on both legs, but it appears only the left one has structural damage that requires surgery.

Dickerson will miss the rest of the Tigers’ road trip, including the upcoming four-game series at Baltimore, but there’s optimism that he could be back for the start of next week’s homestand Tuesday at Comerica Park.

Manager Jim Leyland talked to Dickerson Wednesday morning.

“I feel terrible,” Leyland said. “What a great guy. I feel bad for him. He’s got some issues, and we really send him our best.”

John Keating filled in on the Tigers radio broadcast Wednesday for the second straight game, while Jim Price handled play-by-play. No plans have been announced yet for the Tigers radio team for the next series.

Dickerson is in his 10th season with the Tigers radio network, and his seventh as the lead radio play-by-play voice. He succeeded Ford Frick award winner Ernie Harwell following his retirement in 2002.